Creating a Home Away from Home

homeaway3It can be hard going to a school that is a long way from home. You are separated from your family, your close friends, your pets, and just your comfort zone in general and it doesn’t help that it’s nearly impossible to just run home when something goes wrong. Finding a way to cope with this distance may seem hard, but as someone who is 13 hours away from home, I can vouch that there are ways to help make the distance seem shorter.

I am originally from Huntsville, Alabama, which is about a 13 hour car drive or a $350 airplane ticket. My whole family lives in Alabama and, therefore, I rarely get to see them during the school year. There are times when I wish that I could just jump in my car and drive home, but of course I do not have the time or the money to travel that far. Therefore, I am forced to find ways to deal with the separation. Here are some ways that I find help me handle the distance:

1) Regular communication with family and friends (I usually contact my mom at least every other day.)

2) Avoiding isolation (I tend to spend a lot of time with friends or just in public places so that I do not feel alone.)

3) Getting Involved (By being a part of clubs, jobs, or any other extracurricular activities, I am able to distract myself away from the thoughts of distance and enjoy the community around me.)

Sometimes it is hard being away from home, but there are always people around you who you can rely on to brighten your day, or you can even join in activities that can make your life more enjoyable. While our families may be far away, they are always a phone call away and we will always have a second family at Washington College.

Kayla Kyle

Social Media Editor

Photo Source: http://blog.homejoy.com/home-away-from-home/

Leave a Reply

