My Best Friend, My Sister

IMG_0039.JPG

Savannah and her sister Maddy

As the first month of college passes, I cannot help but think how much I miss my little sister. She has been loving her sophomore year of high school while I’ve been figuring out my freshman year of college, and I couldn’t be more proud of all that she has already accomplished. Maddy’s been so proactive in school, keeping her grades up, and most importantly, watching out for my cat. What I miss the most however, is spending everyday with her. She was my best friend who would always go on random drives with me while blaring music in the car with the windows down. She could easily make me laugh when I needed cheering up after a stressful day. When I did not feel like going out, Maddy would always be with me so I could have company. Now that I’m away at college it has been hard to not see my sister every day or wake up in the same house as her. It has not been easy to only see her every once in a while when I used to see her all the time. Sure we FaceTime and text one another to catch up, but it is different since I was so used to spending so much time with her. With all this in mind, I have been thinking about how lucky I am to have such an amazing relationship with my sister that is also a friendship. Talking to her whenever I get the chance helps me keep myself anchored while learning to balance college. She makes me realize that just because we are far in distance does not mean we are far in heart. She is always going to be there when I need her most and I’ll always be there for her too. We both know that we love each other more than anything and that is my favorite thing about being best friends with my sister.

 

Savannah Masterson

Staff Blogger

Photo by Savannah Masterson

 

Leave a Reply

