To Nap Or Not To Nap, That Is The Question

All college students have come to the point where we all stay in the library till two in the morning while pulling an all-nighter studying and doing all kinds of papers. Not to mention all the extracurricular activities we all do like dance, sports, and theatre. The time to properly eat and sleep slips away and that is not okay.

We get so concerned about our grades that they end up taking priority over everything else. We pay so much money to get a great education, but that comes at a different kind of cost. We devote hours and hours to our studies in order to pass our classes. We sometimes sacrifice meals, sacrifice weekends, breaks, all to make sure we obtain a certain GPA and pass classes. We seem to forget to take care of ourselves and that is just as important as work.

If we work more than we sleep than the least we can do is nap. Even taking an hour long nap makes the day a little bit easier. I know when I get back from my lab, lecture, work day I make it a priority to take a nap. I always work better because I can bounce back and knock out a good portion of my work. Taking the time out of my day to catch up on sleep has been so beneficial. My homework will always be there but I also need to remember to take into account my mental health as well as my physical health.

That is something else we typically forget about as well. We don’t remember to step away from the books and de-stress. If you are constantly working on assignments, it makes it harder for you to complete them well and thoroughly because the goal is to just get it all done and out of the way. Sure, if we get sick Health Services is right around the corner (thank goodness) but if you are anything like me than you are stubborn about going. When I get sick there is not any time for me to take off and recover because I’m so worried about falling behind and not being able to catch back up. I found out that this was the dumbest excuse I was telling myself and I only made the process of getting better harder on myself. I refused to take just an hour to nap or go to Health Services and make sure I was alright. We all forget to realize that we need to take a step back from the homework and extracurricular activities and take an hour or two for ourselves to make our mental and physical health a major priority.

At the end of the day we should all just take a super long nap and have no regrets about it because we really do need to make our health just as much of a priority as our homework, jobs, and activities.

Savannah Masterson

Staff Blogger

Leave a Reply

