My Momma, My Best Friend

thumbnail_IMG_2825.jpg

Savannah spends the afternoon with her mom 

I am so fortunate to be close enough to home where my parents can easily come and visit me. Today I had the opportunity to spend the afternoon with my mom after class. My relationship with her is one of the most important things to me. She constantly motivates me to always do my best and makes me feel like everything is okay even when it may not actually be.

Being away from my mom is hard for sure. I was constantly with her everyday which I took complete advantage of. We talked all the time about everything and anything whenever I needed to but now that I’m in college, it makes finding the time to sit down and talk to her hard. She was the person I could always turn to when I could not figure anything out. She knew when I needed her the most and would immediately be there every single time. She has helped me through some of the hardest times in my life, but now that I’m in college she can only do so much since she’s far away and I only get to see her every once in a while. Today we finally got to sit down together and do some long needed catching up.

Spending time with her this afternoon reminded me that just because we are far apart does not mean that in any way shape or form that she won’t be there for me. To be able to sit down with her in a comfortable setting just to talk about what’s been going on lately was so refreshing. I’m still adjusting to the fact I’m on my own just as she’s adjusting to me not living at home. We made it a priority to text each other at least once a day just to make sure everything was all right. With my class schedule and her work schedule it makes it difficult to have conversations on the phone but we always send each other a text here or there until we can call one another. There isn’t a day that passes that I wish I could be home with my mom and just sit with her all day but that was something I used to take advantage of. Now that I’m pretty much on my own, I have to appreciate the days where I am able talk to her for an hour or so.

I could never have accomplished what I have without her. I don’t think I would actually be the person I am today without her. I realized that she was my anchor while I was trying to stay afloat while making the transition to college. If we didn’t have the relationship we do now, I don’t things would be the way they are; everything would be so much different and it freaks me out to think everything could change. Every day I’m thankful that I can talk to my mom whenever I need her knowing that she will most definitely be there. I’m so lucky to call her my mom and my best friend.

Savannah Masterson

Staff Blogger

Photo by Savannah Masterson

 

Leave a Reply

