The Glass Menagerie

thumbnail_The Glass Menagerie Photo.jpgTonight I had the absolute privilege of seeing Erin Coffman’s SCE direction of “The Glass Menagerie” by Tennessee Williams and I was so impressed. Words cannot even describe how wonderfully stunned I was by this amazing production. I had heard of “The Glass Menagerie” before but this production exceeded my wildest expectations. The cast was absolutely incredible each actor displayed so much talent. There wasn’t a time where my focus left the stage I was constantly following the characters and the dialogue. The cast made each of the scenes so realistic and emotional. The show was a total of 2 hours and 15 minutes with a single intermission but I was so captivated and caught up in the plot I barely noticed how long the play was. The dialogue kept rolling into scene after scene while keeping the audience intrigued and mesmerized. The piece was incredibly well chosen and well directed. The costumes were spot on for the characters in that time period as well as the setting. The stage had simple pieces that made the setting comfortable and open. It was as if you were casually sitting right there in the living room of the small apartment just watching a family having a typical evening. I absolutely loved everything about this play and wish I could see every single production.

If you have the opportunity, go see “The Glass Menagerie” November 18th and 19th in Tawes Theatre at 7:30pm. The show is so incredibly wonderful; you’ll be captivated from the minute the dialogue begins.

Savannah Masterson

Staff Blogger

Photo Source:  https://www.facebook.com/WACDrama/photos/gm.377347452611870/1808741616067641/?type=3&theater

Leave a Reply

