How to Make the Most out of not Having a Voice

thumbnail_IMG_3351.jpg

This week after I caught the terrible plague of the awful cold I had, I also lost my voice. My friends loved to compare me to Weezy from “Toy Story” every time I would try and say something. Alongside not being able to talk to my friends, I also couldn’t say my lines or sing during my rehearsals for “Last September”. This made things incredibly hard because it was just a few days after my birthday and we were also learning parts for the songs in the show. So, I had to make the best of it and I tried my hardest to gain my voice back as fast as I could.

Running to Walgreens, I prepared a list to combat the horrible cold I had gotten. I went straight for the cough drops, Nyquil, tea, and ginger ale. At this point, it was strictly bed rest and minimal talking which left a lot of time for studying, reading, and catching up on Netflix. It also gave me the opportunity to slow down from all the activities I’m involved in. I realized that sometimes you need just a little time to yourself to bounce back from whacky weather patterns, stress, and sleepless nights. It’s super important to take care of ourselves before we end up getting things to go from bad to worse. Always remember to take vitamins, drink plenty of water, get lots of sleep, and if you start to get sick head over to health services!

Savannah Masterson

Staff Blogger

Photo by Savannah Masterson

Leave a Reply

