Why I Hate Group Projects

If you are like me then you hate group projects. Most of the time working in groups is tedious, annoying, and does not help with the project at hand. I like to be in control when working on group things because I am a perfectionist and a little bossy, so thins usually leaves me doing a lot of the work. Currently I am working on a group project for one of my classes and I find that I could do the assignment on my own and be much better off. I am done with my thesis, the semester is winding down, and the last thing I want to do is put in extra effort for a tedious group project.

Group projects can be very stressful and can sometimes lead to an undesirable grade that may not be your fault. Everyone might not pull their own weight or have different expectations for the project at hand. I know group projects are supposed to teach team work skills, but I believe they are only necessary in some classes. If you find yourself in a group project you don’t want to be in here is some advice.

  1. Try to get a group chat of some sort together for open communication. It makes it a lot easier when you can get immediate responses as opposed to emails.
  2. Meet at the beginning so you can all be on the same page and understand your roll.
  3. If you have a member not pulling their weight make sure to address them or talk to your professor.
  4. Be a team player and try to help out all you can, it is not fair to leave all the work to one person because you wouldn’t want that to happen to you.
  5. Just try to get through it because as much as you hate group projects, so does everyone else.

Brooke Harig

Social Media Editor

Photo source: https://www.pinterest.com/katherinewaring/group-projects/

Leave a Reply

